CONCEALED HANDGUN LICENSE TRAINING -
We offer a complete one-day
Concealed Handgun License Training Course. Based in Houston, we are
currently expanding to the Austin, San Antonio, and Dallas areas.
Check our website calendar to find the
class nearest you. Click here
in Texas, is by permit only. Non-residents can
also apply for a permit.
with: Oklahoma, Louisiana, Arkansas, Arizona,
Alabama, Tennessee, Florida, Kentucky, North Carolina, South Carolina,
South Dakota, Colorado, Montana, Georgia, North Dakota, Missouri,
Virginia, Michigan, Mississippi,
Utah, Idaho, New Mexico, Alaska, Pennsylvania and Wyoming.
Getting Your Texas Concealed
To qualify for a Texas
CHL you must:
Not be under a
Have a clean
criminal history, including military service and recent juvenile
Not be under a
Not be chemically
Not be of unsound
Not be delinquent in
paying fines, fees, child support, student loans, etc.
Be eligible to
purchase a handgun by completing the NICS check.
Be 21 years old.
(Members and former members of the armed forces must be 18.)
There are two
preliminary steps to the process of obtaining a Texas concealed handgun license,
completing an application and taking a training course. These can be
concurrent or you can do either one first.
There are two ways to approach this part of the process:
request by mail:
instructor will have application packages for mail submission
fill out the forms in the package during class.
will be notarized during class.
photos will be taken during class
Fingerprints will be taken during class on the FBI and TDPS cards.
have questions your training course instructor should be able to help
Driver License or Texas Identification card.
A valid credit
card. (Visa, Mastercard, Discover, or American Express)
Complete the online
DPS will send you the application forms to complete. The forms
available through TCHL.US instructors cannot be substituted.
If you have questions call DPS at (800) 224-5744.
Taking the Training
Taking the training
course will require 10 to 15 hours, and includes a written examination and
a shooting practical. You must pass both with a score of
70% or better.
The written exam covers law, nonviolent conflict resolution, and
handgun use and storage. It is not mainly about shooting.
The shooting practical requires you to fire fifty rounds (slow
fire) from a handgun of .32 caliber or greater, 20 rounds at three
yards, 20 rounds at seven yards, and 10 at fifteen yards. If you
qualify with a semi-auto you will be able to carry a semi automatic
or a revolver. If you qualify with a revolver you are only
certified to carry a revolver or derringer.
After you pass both
tests the TCHL.US instructor will issue two copies of Form TR100, which you must
Now itís time to Submit your Application
Make sure all the forms that came in the application package are
Include the first copy of the Form TR100. Do not send in the
you have not paid online, you may send a personal check, cashier's
check, or money order for the license fee. You may pay cash at DPS
headquarters in Austin. NOTE: It is a very bad idea to
bounce a check on the Texas DPS.
recommend making a copy of everything and sending it certified mail or
return receipt requested.
Send the package to DPS. Currently, there is a huge back log of
applications being processed and time to receive the license from TDPS
is running 6 to 7 months (4 months for renewals).
When you receive your Concealed Handgun License check it over to make
sure the information is correct.
If you need to modify
your license to change your name or address or to go from an NSA (non
semi-auto) to an SA (semi-auto) license, or replace a lost or destroyed
license, we have the forms